Pres. Obama Declares Cook County Disaster Area, Residents May Begin Filing FEMA Claims

Maywood residents who were waiting to file claims with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) can do so now. On Friday, May 10, President Obama made the official declaration necessary to release federal disaster relief resources for the following counties: Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake LaSalle, McHenry and Will. Residents may receive assistance in the form of grants, loans for repairs and temporary shelter. Jonathon Monken, director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), said that his agency is still assessing the flood’s impact. So far, they’ve come across about 37,000 homes damaged by the flood.

If your home was affected by the April floods, go to Fema’s website and scroll down some, looking on the right side of your screen for the following:

Apply for Assistance

Click the blue hyperlink and this page should come up:

Disaster Assistance





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.