African American Heritage Trail Ribbon Cutting

The public is invited to attend the historic Ribbon Cutting Ceremony of the first-time, unsung story of Maywood’s African American residents, from 1887 to the mid 1950’s.

This is the area where Negroes & some Jewish people were permitted to live by a realtor’s Restricted Covenant. These segregated ceilings were broken by the combined efforts of the Maywood NAACP (including: Herbert Wright, Henry Perry, Ben Stroud, Julius Williams, Dr. Percy L. Julian, Lubertha Miller-Johnson, and Garfield Hillery, Jr.). The “Mighty Three” women Realtors who worked diligently to open housing stock to Blacks were: Naomi Carter, Lynnasacks Guice and Ora Peppers-Williams.

Four public art markers have been installed as Community Pride District Landmarks, at the corners of 10th & 14th Avenues on St. Charles Road; and 10th & 14th Avenues on Madison Street. These signs designate the trail of the Restricted Covenant Section.

The Ribbon Cutting Ceremony will be held on Saturday, August 10, 2013 at 10:30 A.M., on the grounds of the WestTown Museum, at 104 South 5th Avenue, Maywood. A guided shuttle tour will follow the ceremony at 12 Noon, stepping off from the Museum Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.